Can I have that in healthy?

So we all love us some tuna salad. Classic, delicious, flavorful tuna salad. Fantastic food, total go-to food for lunch. Every family has their own special recipe and takes pride in it. Totally love that.  What I don’t like is the unhealthiness of the classic tuna salad. I, like so many people, try to eat healthy and stay in shape; and that jar of mayonaise just isn’t part of that 🙂 So I try to put healthy twists on foods I like. Here I took a family recipe for tuna salad and made it healthier without losing any of the awesome taste, as I find. It’s full of protein and fiber but only has little fat.

Here’s what you need:

1 can tuna (in water, not oil)

1 small apple (or 1/2 a large apple; my favorite is Pink Lady)

2-3 stalks of celery

1 small onion

1 hardboiled egg

1 tsp mayonaise

1/2 cup plain yogurt

salt, pepper

Image

Cut the onion and the egg in very small cubes; cut the apple in small cubes. For the celery, cut it in half lengthwise and then chop it in small pieces. Combine all ingredients in a bowl and season to taste with salt and pepper. Done!

Super fast, super easy, super delicious! You may find that apple in tuna salad sounds weird but give it a shot and you’ll see it’s delicious. The sweetness and juiciness of the apple goes perfectly with the other flavors. Enjoy!

Image

2 thoughts on “Can I have that in healthy?

  1. Nice recipe creation. Looks very delicious.

    Thanks for viewing my blog Fun with Food as well. We hope you return and will wish to leave your e-mail to receive future posts. We appreciate your visits and comments.

    Also please forgive me on my last comment referring to your blog as Golly Gone Primal. I correct myself to say I look forward to future posts from Thatfraeuleinj. 🙂

    Chef Randall
    http://www.savorthefood.com

Leave a Reply

